#### Bylaw No. 1498-24

# BEING A BYLAW OF THE TOWN OF THREE HILLS IN THE PROVINCE OF ALBERTA, TO SPECIFY THE NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS SITTING ON THE MUNICIPAL COUNCIL

**WHEREAS** pursuant to section 143(1) of the *Municipal Government Act*, RSA 2000, C. M-26, as amended, the Council of a city or town shall consist of seven (7) Councillors unless the Council passes a bylaw specifying a higher or lower odd number;

**AND WHEREAS** the Council of the Town of Three Hills, in the Province of Alberta, has the authority to increase or decrease the number of Councillors, as specified in the Municipal Government Act;

NOW THEREFORE, the Council of the Town of Three Hills, duly assembled, hereby enacts as follows:

- 1. The Municipal Council for the Town of Three Hills shall increase to seven (7) with General Election in October 2025 and shall consist of the following:
  - 1.1. A Chief Elected Official, otherwise referred to as the "Mayor", to be elected by separate ballot, and;
  - 1.2. Six (6) Councillors, to be elected at large.
- 2. This Bylaw shall come into force and effect on the final date of passing thereof.
- 3. Bylaw No. 1463-20 Number of Councillors is hereby repealed.

## READ A FIRST TIME THIS \_\_\_\_ DAY OF OCTOBER 2024

## **READ A SECOND TIME THIS \_\_ DAY OF OCTOBER 2024**

#### READ A THIRD TIME THIS \_\_\_\_ DAY OF DECEMBER 2024

(CHIEF ELECTED OFFICIAL)

(CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER)